OUABlog

The Official Blog of The Ohio Union Activities Board

I am Thankful for the OUABest student experience at Ohio State

Leave a comment

tgiv

As my four years at OSU come to a close, I can’t help but reflect on the experiences, commitments, and friends that have made my journey life changing. This reflection transfers my mindset back to the end of my freshman year. Like many first-years, I tried out a few organizations, but was overwhelmed at the sheer number of meaningful involvements a student at OSU had at his or her fingertips. During the summer between my freshman and sophomore year, I took my shy and sheltered self on an Ohio State sponsored study abroad trip to Lecce, Italy. Throughout my three months in Lecce, I met some of my best friends; people who challenged my worldview, my appetite for risk, and my outlook on the next three years of college.

I returned from study abroad as someone ready to make the most of my involvement at Ohio State. A few friends from Lecce had participated in OUAB, and with event planning experience at the high school level; I decided to apply at the beginning of my sophomore year. After I learned of my acceptance, it became obvious that I was not only joining an organization, but a group of Buckeyes who shared the same love and passion for our university, paired with a commitment to leave it better than they found it. My OUAB experience has been marked with the development of both hard and soft skills, including project management, marketing strategy, and event coordination coupled with leadership cultivation, creative expression, and talent interaction.

All in all, OUAB has given me the opportunity to engage deeper within our University and within myself. The highlights of my life outside of the classroom at Ohio State include anything and everything–from Tuesday night meetings, to helping our advisor back OAR’s tour bus into the Oval, to sharing study time with friends in the OUAB office, to receiving a high-five from Anderson Cooper for being a fellow Political Science major. From high-energy events to day-to-day activity, I am thankful to say my student experience has been second-to-none because I am a member of OUAB.

-Alexandra Nardo,
Lectures Committee

Author: OUAB

The mission of the Ohio Union Activities Board as the student programming organization at The Ohio State University is to provide diverse programs and events that are educational, entertaining, and thought provoking for the students of the Columbus campus.

Leave a Reply

