OUABlog

The Official Blog of The Ohio Union Activities Board

OUABoo!

Leave a comment

It’s that time of year again, folks – the joyous season of gorging on copious amounts of sweets and pretending to be someone you’re not – HALLOWEEN! Halloween will always have a special place in my heart. First of all, as a lifelong dessert addict, I of course appreciate the emphasis put on candy during this wonderful time, taking every opportunity to shove as many Reese’s pumpkins as I can into my mouth at once. Ladylike? No. Delicious? Yes. Sorry mom.

giphy

Candy is great and all, but we can’t forget the real reason why we all love Halloween so much – the costumes! Every year I’m astounded by the creativity of my peers. I’ve seen Mario and Luigi, people on a rollercoaster, a box of crayons, M&Ms – one kid I went to high school with went as Swine Flu once… where do you guys come up with this stuff? Hey, who knows, maybe we’ll have someone try dressing up as Ebola this year… Sorry, too soon?

giphy (2)

But actually don’t do that. If you’re still looking for ideas, instead of dressing up like deadly viruses, here are some fun group costume themes: Despicable Me minions, Pac Man and his ghosts, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Men in Black, 101 Dalmatians, Disney princesses or the cast of any Disney movie… BE CREATIVE, Y’ALL.

giphy (1)

Besides candy and costumes, there are so many other fun aspects to love about Halloween –decorations, haunted houses, scary movies… the list goes on and on!  And a lot of crazy people (not me) enjoy paying to have the living daylights scared out of them this time of year at haunted houses, hayrides, abandoned asylums, etc… I mean, whatever floats your boat, I just don’t particularly enjoy voluntarily giving myself nightmares. But hey, if that’s what you’re into, Haunted Hoochie, ScareAtorium, and Walking Dead Mansion are all haunted houses in the area that are guaranteed to scar you for life. So grab some friends and check them out!

giphy (4)

I, however, will be sitting on my couch eating Reese’s pumpkins, watching not scary Halloween movies (believe me, all you horror film junkies, there are plenty). I was always a fan of the Halloweeentown movies, but after like the 7th one, it got kind of old for me. But hey, I’ve never really been a fan of sequels. Except the Toy Story movies. Toy Story is perfect.

giphy (3)

Anyways, speaking of Halloween-themed movies that aren’t super scary but will still get you into the Halloween spirit, Flicks for Free this week is none other than the age-old classic, HOCUS POCUS! Join your three favorite witches in their reign of terror this week on Wednesday, October 29th at 6 and 8:30 PM in the US Bank Conference Theater in the Ohio Union! Free popcorn and soda – why wouldn’t you come? Hocus Pocus is just one prime example of 90s Disney, something that I feel our generation holds near and dear to our hearts. They just don’t make ‘em like that anymore… Woah, sorry, getting nostalgic.

giphy (5)

I hope you all have a wonderful Halloweekend – may your nights be long and filled with candy!

 

 1901899_631285186921252_775876250_n
Written by Suzanna Duggan, Collaborative Events Committee Member
Author: OUAB

The mission of the Ohio Union Activities Board as the student programming organization at The Ohio State University is to provide diverse programs and events that are educational, entertaining, and thought provoking for the students of the Columbus campus.

Leave a Reply

